Chortle Awards 2020 nominees

Thursday 27th February 2020, 4:43pm

18th March: Winners revealed

The shortlists for the Chortle Awards 2020 have been announced, with Jonny Pelham, Jessica Fostekew and Catherine Cohen revealed as double nominees.

The shortlists were drawn up by a panel of independent comedy industry figures, and the winners will now be decided by an online vote at Polls close at 9am on 9th March.

The full list of nominees is:

Club Comedian

Adam Rowe.

Adam Rowe

Larry Dean.

Larry Dean

Tanyalee Davis.

Tanyalee Davis

Tez Ilyas.

Tez Ilyas

Zoe Lyons.

Zoe Lyons

TV Comedian

Taskmaster. Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Avalon Television.

Bob Mortimer

Taskmaster. Greg Davies. Copyright: Avalon Television.

Greg Davies

Katherine Ryan.

Katherine Ryan

A League Of Their Own. Romesh Ranganathan. Copyright: CPL Productions.

Romesh Ranganathan

Tom Allen Absolutely Live. Tom Allen.

Tom Allen

Best Newcomer

Brodi Snook.

Brodi Snook

Charlie George.

Charlie George

David Eagle.

David Eagle

Patrick Spicer.

Patrick Spicer

Toussaint Douglass.

Toussaint Douglass

Breakthrough Act

BBC New Comedy Award. Janine Harouni. Copyright: BBC.

Janine Harouni

Jessica Fostekew.

Jessica Fostekew

Jonny Pelham.

Jonny Pelham

London Hughes.

London Hughes

Character, Improv and Sketch Award

Anna Mann. Colin Hoult. Copyright: Ed Moore.

Colin Hoult as Anna Mann

The Delightful Sausage. Image shows from L to R: Amy Gledhill, Chris Cantrill.

The Delightful Sausage

Image shows from L to R: Joe Barnes, Henry Perryment.


Zach Zucker. Copyright: Dylan Woodley.

Jack Tucker



Music And Variety Act

Catherine Cohen.

Catherine Cohen

Flo & Joan: Alive On Stage. Image shows from L to R: Nicola Dempsey, Rosie Dempsey. Copyright: Avalon Television.

Flo & Joan

Jonny & The Baptists. Image shows from L to R: Jonny Donahoe, Paddy Gervers.

Jonny & The Baptists

Joz Norris. Copyright: Steve Ullathorne.

Joz Norris

Spencer Jones.

Spencer Jones (50 Minute Disco Experiment)

Best Compere

Dan Nightingale.

Dan Nightingale

Ian Smith.

Ian Smith

Kiri Pritchard-McLean. Copyright: Kayla Wren.

Kiri Pritchard-Mclean

Mick Ferry.

Mick Ferry

Rich Wilson.

Rich Wilson

Best Show

Catherine Cohen.

Catherine Cohen: The Twist...? She's Gorgeous

Jessica Fostekew.

Jessica Fostekew: Hench

Jonny Pelham.

Jonny Pelham: Off Limits

Jordan Brookes.

Jordan Brookes: I've Got Nothing

Max & Ivan. Image shows from L to R: Max Olesker, Ivan Gonzalez. Copyright: Matt Crockett.

Max & Ivan: Commitment

Best Theatre/Arena Tour

Ben Elton.

Ben Elton

Frank Skinner.

Frank Skinner: Showbiz

Hannah Gadsby.

Hannah Gadsby: Douglas

Rhod Gilbert.

Rhod Gilbert: Book Of John

Stewart Lee.

Stewart Lee: Snowflake/Tornado

TV Award

Cunk On.... Philomena Cunk (Diane Morgan). Copyright: House Of Tomorrow.

Cunk & Other Humans On 2019

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Derry Girls

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.


Harry Hill's ClubNite. Harry Hill. Copyright: Nit TV.

Harry Hill's ClubNite

A Year In The Life Of A Year. Rhys Thomas. Copyright: BBC.

A Year In The Life Of A Year

Radio Award

Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show!. Count Arthur Strong (Steve Delaney). Copyright: Komedia Entertainment.

Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show!

Dead Ringers. Image shows from L to R: Lewis Macleod, Debra Stephenson, Jon Culshaw, Jan Ravens, Duncan Wisbey. Copyright: BBC.

Dead Ringers

Kevin Eldon Will See You Now. Kevin Eldon.

Kevin Eldon Will See You Now

Mark Steel's In Town. Mark Steel. Copyright: BBC.

Mark Steel's In Town

Jon Holmes.

The Skewer

Book Award

Ken Dodd.

Happiness And Tears: The Ken Dodd Story by Louis Barfe

Russell Kane.

Son Of A Silverback by Russell Kane

Lenny Henry's Race Through Comedy. Lenny Henry. Copyright: Douglas Road.

Who Am I Again? by Lenny Henry

Internet Award

Do The Right Thing
Inside the Comedian
Michael Spicer: The Room Next Door
Off Menu podcast with James Acaster and Ed Gamble
100 Reasons To Hate... with Ian Smith

Related Guides

Latest news