Comedies nominated in British Screenwriters' Awards

Wednesday 18th July 2018, 12:24pm

Famalam. Image shows from L to R: John MacMillan, Samson Kayo, Vivienne Acheampong, Gbemisola Ikumelo, Tom Moutchi, Roxy Sternberg. Copyright: BBC.

The nominations for the British Screenwriters' Awards 2018 have been announced, with a number of British comedies in the running in the TV comedy and children's television categories.

This will be the fifth year of the awards. The organisers say: "It's about time someone put the originators and architects of great storytelling front and centre. And we rose to the challenge and launched the British Screenwriters' Awards."

The winners are decided by a vote. The form closes at noon on 25th July. Vote now

Best Comedy Writing on Television

Famalam. Vivienne Acheampong. Copyright: BBC.Famalam writers Tom Marshall and Akemnji Ndifornyen

Timewasters. Image shows from L to R: Lauren (Adelayo Adedayo), Nick (Daniel Lawrence Taylor), Horace (Samson Kayo), Jason (Kadiff Kirwan). Copyright: Big Talk Productions.Timewasters by Daniel Lawrence Taylor and Barunka O'Shaughnessy

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.Derry Girls by Lisa McGee

Sick Note. Image shows from L to R: Dr Iain Glennis (Nick Frost), Daniel Glass (Rupert Grint), Kenny West (Don Johnson). Copyright: King Bert Productions.Sick Note by Nat Saunders and James Serafinowicz

Motherland. Image shows from L to R: Liz (Diane Morgan), Julia (Anna Maxwell Martin), Kevin (Paul Ready).Motherland by Graham Linehan, Sharon Horgan, Helen Linehan and Holly Walsh.

Elsewhere in the nominations list...

The Death Of Stalin.The Death Of Stalin writing team is up for Best British Feature Film Writing.

So Awkward. Image shows from L to R: Martha Fitzgerald (Sophia Dall'Aglio), Lily Hampton (Cleo Demetriou), Jas Salford (Ameerah Falzon-Ojo). Copyright: Channel X North.So Awkward script team, nominated for Best British Children's Television.

Class Dismissed. Copyright: BBC.Class Dismissed team, nominated for Best British Children's Television.

Go Jetters. Copyright: BBC.Go Jetters writing team, nominated for Best British Children's Television.

The End Of The F***ing World. Image shows from L to R: Alyssa (Jessica Barden), James (Alex Lawther).The End Of The F***ing World writer Charlie Covell is nominated for Outstanding Newcomer for British Television Writing.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday 8th September.

The full list of nominations can be seen at

Vote now

Related Guides

Latest news