Inside No. 9 and This Country win BAFTAs

Sunday 22nd April 2018, 10:58pm

  • The results of the BAFTA TV Craft Awards 2018 have been revealed
  • This Country's creators have been named Breakthrough Talent
  • Pemberton and Shearsmith won the Writer: Comedy prize for Inside No. 9
This Country. Image shows from L to R: Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper), Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper). Copyright: BBC.

The annual BAFTA TV Craft Awards have taken place in London this evening.

In a series of hotly contested categories, comedy drama anthology Inside No. 9 and mockumentary This Country both took away prestigious accolades.

Both programmes are written by and star duos. Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton are the brains behind - and in front of the camera for - Inside No. 9 on BBC Two, whilst siblings Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper write and star in BBC Three's This Country.

For their work on Inside No. 9, Shearsmith and Pemberton, who also feature amongst the acclaimed Leage Of Gentlemen, were awarded the prize for Writer: Comedy.

Pemberton was unable to attend the ceremony, by Reece Shearsmith said on collecting the award: "I'm genuinely shocked ... I'm surprised we're in this room, it's fantastic. ... They're labours of love, it's fantastic that we get to sit in a room and make up these stories."

Meanwhile, the Coopers won the Breakthrough Talent award after their iPlayer comedy debuted last year to great critical acclaim.

Charlie commented: "Just being here is amazing. Thank you to BAFTA for that."

Both programmes are made by BBC Studios.

Inside No. 9's win:

This Country's win:

For updates, click the buttons below.



Related Guides

Latest news