Inside No. 9 named Comedy Of The Year 2017

Monday 29th January 2018, 3:00pm

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC

Inside No. 9 has been voted Comedy Of The Year by comedy fans.

In the 12th annual Awards poll conducted by British Comedy Guide, the comedy anthology series took the coveted Comedy Of The Year title, as well as Best TV Comedy Drama, for 2017.

Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton, who write and star in Inside No. 9, say of their win: "Our heartfelt thanks to British Comedy Guide for all their support over the years, as well as to the many comedy fans who voted. The phrase 'comedy drama' was often a disguise for a not-particularly-funny comedy, and we're delighted to have added thriller, horror, romance, slapstick and cryptic crossword clues into the mix.

"To win Comedy of the Year is the biggest twist of all (though we did guess it halfway through) and we're genuinely thrilled. Thank you, from Cheese & Crackers."

The duo add: "If you want to see how awards panels work, take a look at tomorrow night's episode - 'And The Winner Is...' - it's practically a behind-the-scenes documentary."

Elsewhere in the results, Back, starring David Mitchell and Robert Webb was named Best New TV Sitcom, whilst Red Dwarf picked up the most votes in the Best Returning TV Sitcom category.

David Mitchell is linked with three prizes in total: Back's Best New TV Sitcom prize; The Unbelievable Truth, which he hosts, taking the award for Best Radio Panel Show; and Would I Lie To You? named Best TV Panel Show, in which he is a regular team captain.

The full list of winners, and fellow shortlisted nominees, is below.

Best New TV Sitcom

Back. Image shows from L to R: Uncle Geoff (Geoffrey McGivern), Ellen (Penny Downie), Stephen (David Mitchell), Andrew (Robert Webb), Cass (Louise Brealey)

Back (winner)
This Country
Tim Vine Travels Through Time
White Gold

Best Returning TV Sitcom

Red Dwarf. Image shows from L to R: Rimmer (Chris Barrie), Lister (Craig Charles), Kryten (Robert Llewellyn), Cat (Danny John-Jules)

Car Share
Man Down
Red Dwarf (winner)
The League Of Gentlemen

Best Radio Sitcom

Tim Vine Travels In Time. Tim (Tim Vine). Copyright: BBC

Anansi Boys
Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show!
Ed Reardon's Week
Fags, Mags And Bags
John Finnemore's Double Acts
Tim Vine Travels In Time (winner)

Best TV Sketch Show

Vic & Bob's Big Night Out. Image shows from L to R: Vic Reeves, Bob Mortimer. Copyright: BBC

French And Saunders
Horrible Histories
The Keith & Paddy Picture Show
Tracey Breaks The News
Tracey Ullman's Show
Vic & Bob's Big Night Out (winner)

Best Radio Sketch Show

Dead Ringers. Image shows from L to R: Lewis Macleod, Debra Stephenson, Jon Culshaw, Jan Ravens, Duncan Wisbey. Copyright: BBC

Dead Ringers (winner)
Harry And Paul Present: The Gentlemen's Club
John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme
Kevin Eldon Will See You Now

Best TV Panel Show

Would I Lie To You?. Image shows from L to R: David Mitchell, Rob Brydon, Lee Mack. Copyright: Zeppotron

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown
Have I Got News For You
Mock The Week
The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year
Would I Lie To You? (winner)

Best Radio Panel Show

The Unbelievable Truth. David Mitchell. Copyright: BBC / Random Entertainment

Fighting Talk
I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue
Just A Minute
The Museum Of Curiosity
The News Quiz
The Unbelievable Truth (winner)

Best TV Entertainment Show

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Bob Mortimer, Mark Watson, Greg Davies, Aisling Bea, Nish Kumar, Alex Horne, Sally Phillips. Copyright: Avalon Television

Dave Gorman: Modern Life Is Goodish
Frankie Boyle's New World Order
Michael McIntyre's Big Show
Taskmaster (winner)
The Graham Norton Show
The Last Leg

Best Radio Entertainment Show

The Now Show. Image shows from L to R: Steve Punt, Hugh Dennis. Copyright: BBC

Alexei Sayle's Imaginary Sandwich Bar
Andy Hamilton Sort Of Remembers
Keep Calman Carry On
Mark Steel's In Town
The Infinite Monkey Cage
The Now Show (winner)

Best TV Comedy Drama

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC

Cold Feet
Doc Martin
Eric, Ernie And Me
Inside No. 9 (winner)
Murder On The Blackpool Express
No Offence Awards 2017. Copyright: BCG

Voting in the Awards 2017 took place over two stages since Monday 1st January. The first round saw every comedy to broadcast a new episode on television or radio during the previous 12 months longlisted in one of 10 categories, according to its broadcast medium and genre. From each category, the most popular six titles then made up a shortlist, voting for which has been ongoing for the past fortnight.

The winners of the Awards are decided entirely by the popular public ballot, with no weighting or judging panel involved at any point in the process.

British Comedy Guide Editors Aaron Brown and Mark Boosey say: "Hundreds of thousands of votes were cast in this year's poll; we're truly humbled by the response the public have for the awards. The only awards of their kind, it shows the high interest, engagement and love that audiences have for their favourite comedies, both on TV and radio."

Inside No. 9 is the first comedy drama to win the coveted Comedy Of The Year title. Results for previous years

Share this page

Show the love

Related productions

Latest news

See also