Writers' Guild Of Great Britain 2017 shortlist announced

Tuesday 6th December 2016, 11:10am

Meera Syal.

The nominees for the Writers' Guild Of Great Britain (WGGB) 2017 awards have been announced.

The results will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 23rd January 2017 at the Royal College of Physicians in central London. Host Meera Syal (pictured) says: "Someone once said, probably a writer, that the writer is the only true originator of a script, everyone else that follows is merely an interpreter. Whilst the directors and producers slug it out, let's at least agree that whilst everyone can have a great idea, it takes a great writer to bring it to life. And I'm very honoured to be hosting the WGGB Awards where we can come together to celebrate our extraordinary community of writing talent."

Best TV Situation Comedy

Plebs. Image shows from L to R: Grumio (Ryan Sampson), Marcus (Tom Rosenthal), Stylax (Joel Fry). Copyright: RISE Films.Plebs

Tom Basden and Sam Leifer for Series 3, Episode 1, The Beasts

People Just Do Nothing. Image shows from L to R: Chabuddy G (Asim Chaudhry), Beats (Hugo Chegwin), Grindah (Allan Mustafa), Steves (Steve Stamp), Decoy (Daniel Sylvester Woolford). Copyright: Roughcut Television.People Just Do Nothing

Asim Chaudhry, Allan Mustafa and Steve Stamp for Series 3

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.Fleabag

Phoebe Waller-Bridge for Series 1, Episode 1

Best Radio Comedy

Guilt Trip. Image shows from L to R: Ros (Felicity Montagu), Laura (Olivia Nixon). Copyright: BBC.Guilt Trip

Katherine Jakeways, Felicity Montagu and Olivia Nixon

The Pin. Image shows from L to R: Alexander Owen, Ben Ashenden.The Pin

Ben Ashenden and Alexander Owen

John Finnemore's Double Acts. John Finnemore. Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.John Finnemore's Double Acts

John Finnemore for Series 1, Episode 5, English For Pony-Lovers

Additionally, James Griffiths and Mark Oswin are nominated in the Best Children's TV Episode category for their Greenfinger script for Danger Mouse.

In the Best First Screenplay category, Florence Foster Jenkins writer Nicholas Martin; Adult Life Skills writer Rachel Tunnard and Radiator's Tom Browne and Daniel Cerqueira are the contenders.

To see a full shortlist across all categories visit writersguild.org.uk

Related Guides

Latest news