Amused Moose Comedy Award 2019 winners

Thursday 22nd August 2019, 9:48am

Janine Harouni.

Janine Harouni has come out top of over 180 hopefuls to be named the Amused Moose Comedy Award winner.

She took the prize for her Edinburgh Fringe comedy show Stand Up With Janine Harouni (Please Remain Seated).

New York native Harouni also won the BBC New Comedy Award just last week, and has been shortlisted for Best Newcomer in the festival's iconic Edinburgh Comedy Awards.

As part of her Amused Moose prize package she gets a two-week run at the Soho Playhouse Theatre in New York. Harouni has lived in London for the past seven years but on accepting the prize, she joked "I can go home".

Amused Moose Comedy Awards 2019. Archie Henderson.

The People's Champion Award, based on audience votes at the final, went to Archie Henderson, who is performing his multimedia music show Jazz Emu at the Fringe.

Amused Moose Comedy Awards 2019. Liam Withnail.

The award for Outstanding Fringe Show went to Liam Withnail for Homecoming.

The final, which took place in Edinburgh last night (21st August), saw the finalists performing 10-minute segments of their shows. Aaron Simmonds, James McNicholas, Paul F Taylor and Stephen Buchanan were the other stand-ups taking part.

For updates, click the buttons below.


Latest news