Babatunde Aleshe wins Amused Moose New Comic Award

Tuesday 20th August 2019, 7:58am

  • Babatunde Aleshe has won the Amused Moose National New Comic Award 2019
  • Basil Jamm was awarded the Peoples Champion 2019 title
  • Deadpan stand-up Daniel Jones was chosen for the Breakthrough Comic title
Amused Moose New Comic Award. Babatundé Aléshé. Copyright: Andy Eaton.

Following a final at the Edinburgh Fringe, Babatunde Aleshe was named the winner of the 2019 Amused Moose National New Comic award.

The long-running new act competition has previously featured comedians including Jack Whitehall, Sarah Millican, Josh Widdicombe, Greg Davies, Nina Conti, Jimmy Carr, Rhod Gilbert and Romesh Ranganathan.

The result was determined based on the votes of an industry panel, combined with the audience scores.

Amused Moose New Comic Award. Basil Jamm. Copyright: Andy Eaton.

Basil Jamm, "with his unique and alternative comedy stylings", took home the Peoples Champion 2019 trophy, "thanks to the audience hugely enjoying his unusual comedy".

Amused Moose New Comic Award. Daniel Jones. Copyright: Andy Eaton.

Meanwhile Daniel Jones, "who brings rooms to life with his deadplan humour and low energy anecdotes", was chosen as Breakthrough Comic 2019.

The final, hosted by Ian Smith, took place at The Grassmarket Centre's Old Foundry. Rhod Gilbert presented the trophies, after reminiscing about being in the 2003 Amused Moose Comedy Awards finals. One of last year's finalists, Josh Baulf, entertained the crowd as the votes were counted.

Over 400 comedians applied for this year's competition. The other "brilliant" finalists, who "gave the winners a run for their money", were Michael Akadiri, Patrick Spicer, Ruby Carr, Russell Arathoon and Stuart McPherson.

For updates, click the button below.


Latest news