Maisie Adam wins Amused Moose award 2018

Monday 13th August 2018, 12:38pm

Maisie Adam.

Maisie Adam has won the Amused Moose National New Comic Award 2018.

The Yorkshire-based comedian, who previously won the So You Think You're Funny? competition, came out top of the vote at the live final. Her high-energy set included jokes about her height, and having a lesser-known form of epilepsy.

The final, hosted by Ian Smith, took place as part of the Edinburgh Festival on Sunday night (12th August). The results were determined using an industry panel and audience votes.

Aside from the New Comic award, two other titles were handed out on the night:

Joe Hobbs.

Joe Hobbs was named Breakthrough Comedian.

Stephen Trumble.

Stephen Trumble took home the People's Champion award.

The trophies were handed out by Nina Conti, who won the competition in 2002.

The final also featured Louise Atkinson, Josh Baulf, Oisin Hanlon, Jack Harris, Rosie Holt and Barney Iley. Each contestant had 7 minutes on stage.

Amused Moose National New Comic Award 2018 finalists.

The awards, previously known as the Amused Moose Laugh Off, launched in 2004. Finalists in the competition which have since gone on to become stars include Jack Whitehall, Sarah Millican, Jimmy Carr, Greg Davies, Josh Widdicombe, Romesh Ranganathan, Katherine Ryan, Simon Amstell, Rhod Gilbert, Alex Horne and Rob Beckett.

Maisie Adam is performing her hour-long show, titled Vague, at the Edinburgh Fringe until 27th August.

For updates, click the button below.


Latest news