Kathryn Mather wins Beat the Frog World Series 2017

Tuesday 7th November 2017, 9:44am

  • Kathryn Mather has won the Beat The Frog World Series 2017 new act stand-up competition
Kathryn Mather

Kathryn Mather has won Beat The Frog World Series 2017, the Manchester-based stand-up competition for new acts.

A former children's entertainer originally from Rochdale, Mather is now a mature student living in London. She has been performing stand-up for two years and also reached the semi-final of this year's So You Think You're Funny? competition, and took part in the BBC New Comedy Award too.

Beat The Frog World Series 2017 took place last night (Monday 6th November) at The Frog And Bucket comedy club in a packed final hosted by Dan Nightingale. Each autumn since 2004, The World Series pits all the winners from the venue's Beat The Frog newcomer night against each other to find the 'victor of victors'. Previous champions of the competition include Brennan Reece, Rob Mulholland, Pete Otway, Tom Goodliffe, Penella Mellor and Carl Hutchinson.

The winner receives a £250 cash prize, a trophy and a paid weekend spot at the club.

Writing on Twitter after her win, Mather - who was performing on her birthday - posted: "FUCKING GET IN... I mean, I am honoured to have received this award, etc etc."

The winner is decided via a 'clap off' at the end of the night. Russian Konstantin Kisin was awarded the Panel Prize and Adam Hughes was named runner up. The other finalists were Michael Carter, Tayo Cousins, Carrie Anne Guthrie (as Carrie Anne the RedNeck Comedian), James Harkness (as Dougie), Tom Lawrinson and Kiran Morjaria.

Share this page