Archie Maddocks and Paul Revill win Bath Comedy Festival New Act of the Year 2014

Bath Comedy Festival - New Act Competition Winners 2014. Image shows from L to R: Nick Steel, Archie Maddocks, Geoff Whiting, Paul Revill

Archie Maddocks and Paul Revill have been named as joint winners of Bath Comedy Festival's 2014 New Act of the Year competition.

Both comics have been getting notice at shows around the UK, and Revill has appeared previously at the Edinburgh Festival with the show Revill's Selection.

Bath Comedy Festival's New Act of the Year competition runs through the week of the festival, with five heats involving 45 different up-and-coming comedians.

The final was held in at Bath Cricket Club on Saturday 5th April. The keenly fought contest featured nine acts this year. With judges un-able to pick between Maddocks and Revill, a joint first place was awarded.

Prizes included £200 cash, a vibrant canvas artwork of Tommy Cooper from iconiComedy, bottles from the Handmade Cider Company, and Bath Comedy Festival t-shirts.

The judges deliberating over the decision were comedy commissioner Graham Smith, TV and radio producer Alan Nixon, esteemed comedy coach and writer Jill Edwards and Mirth Control club booker Geoff Whiting.

Russ Peers was awarded runner up spot following a 'well paced, written and executed set'. Also taking part in the final were Becky Brunning, Pete Dobbing, Chris Chopping, Carter & Ollerton, Jack Brown and Sam Carrington.

Festival Director Nick Steel says: "Congratulations to all the finalists and thanks to [organiser] Geoff Whiting and judges Alan Nixon, Graham Smith and Jill Edwards."

The Bath Comedy Festival was founded in 2008, and this year's festival saw performances from the likes of Arthur Smith, Phil Nichol, Boothby Graffoe, Barry Cryer, Kerry Godliman, Mike Wozniak, Martin Mor, Matt Richardson, Carey Marx, Hardeep Singh Kohli, John Moloney, Matt Price, Andrew O'Neill, Danny Buckler and Neil McFarlane.

Bath's new act competition, organised by Mirth Control, has been running since 2009. The previous winners are Larry Dean (2013), Harriet Kemsley (2012), Matt Richardson (2011), Mickey Sharma (2010) and Joe Lycett (2009).

Published: Monday 7th April 2014

Share this page