2022 Edinburgh Fringe

Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2022 nominations

Wednesday 24th August 2022, 3:12pm

40th Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards

The nominations for the Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2022 have been announced. Click on the show title to find out more and read all the reviews the comedian has received so far.

Best Show

Alfie Brown: Sensitive Man. Alfie Brown

Alfie Brown

Alfie Brown: Sensitive Man

Colin Hoult: The Death of Anna Mann. Colin Hoult

Colin Hoult

Colin Hoult: The Death of Anna Mann

Jordan Gray: Is It a Bird?. Jordan Gray

Jordan Gray

Jordan Gray: Is It a Bird?

Josh Pugh: Sausage, Egg, Josh Pugh, Chips and Beans. Josh Pugh

Josh Pugh

Sausage, Egg, Josh Pugh, Chips and Beans

Larry Dean: Fudnut. Larry Dean

Larry Dean

Larry Dean: Fudnut

Lauren Pattison: It Is What It Is. Lauren Pattison

Lauren Pattison

Lauren Pattison: It Is What It Is

Liz Kingsman: One-Woman Show. Liz Kingsman

Liz Kingsman

Liz Kingsman: One-Woman Show

Sam Campbell: Comedy Show. Sam Campbell

Sam Campbell

Sam Campbell: Comedy Show

Seann Walsh: Is Dead. Happy Now?. Seann Walsh

Seann Walsh

Seann Walsh: Is Dead. Happy Now?

Delightful Sausage: Nowt but Sea. Image shows from L to R: Amy Gledhill, Chris Cantrill

The Delightful Sausage

The Delightful Sausage: Nowt but Sea

Best Newcomer

Amy Gledhill: The Girl Before The Girl You Marry. Amy Gledhill

Amy Gledhill

Amy Gledhill: The Girl Before The Girl You Marry

Emily Wilson: Fixed. Emily Wilson

Emily Wilson

Emily Wilson: Fixed

Emmanuel Sonubi: Emancipated. Emmanuel Sonubi

Emmanuel Sonubi

Emmanuel Sonubi: Emancipated

Josh Jones: Waste of Space. Josh Jones

Josh Jones

Josh Jones: Waste of Space

Lara Ricote: GRL/LATNX/DEF. Lara Ricote

Lara Ricote

Lara Ricote: GRL/LATNX/DEF

Leo Reich: Literally Who Cares?!. Leo Reich

Leo Reich

Leo Reich: Literally Who Cares?!

Vittorio Angelone: Translations. Vittorio Angelone

Vittorio Angelone

Vittorio Angelone: Translations

Nica Burns, the director of Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards, says of this year's nominees: "2022 has indeed been a bumper year with a high standard of comedy across the Fringe. Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards' nominees represent a wide-range of comedy genres created by comedians whose material is drawn from their rich range of backgrounds and experiences. The Fringe has bounced back with a bang, with audiences clearly enjoying laughing together, live."

The judging panel is Cherie Cunningham (UKTV Dave), Ashley Davies (Metro), Joe Hullait (Channel 4), Isobel Lewis (The Independent), Dominic Maxwell (The Times), Pete Strauss (BBC Studios) and public panellists Paul Abbey, Jo Kinsella and Monique May Munroe, with Sky's Adnan Ahmed as Chair.

The prize money for Best Comedy Show is £10,000, with £5,000 each for the Best Newcomer and the Panel Prize winner.

Ten shows being featured in the Best Show shortlist is a record number.

It's a particularly good year for the Monkey Barrel venues, with six of the Best Show nominations and three of the Newcomer shows playing in their rooms.

The results will be announced at a ceremony at the festival, scheduled for Saturday afternoon.

Share this page