Edinburgh Fringe

2022 Edinburgh Comedy Awards judging panel announced

Thursday 14th July 2022, 2:51pm

40th Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards

The judges for the 2022 Edinburgh Comedy Awards has been announced.

As is traditionally the setup, the judging panel features seven leading industry professionals and three "passionate comedy punters", representing the public.

The panel for 2022 is:

Adnan Ahmed (Chair)
Producer, Sky Studios Comedy

Cherie Cunningham
Channel Director, Dave

Ashley Davies
Freelance Arts Journalist, Metro Scotland and Times Scotland's Alba

Joe Hullait
Commissioning Executive, Channel 4 Comedy

Isobel Lewis
Comedy Critic and Culture Journalist, Independent

Dominic Maxwell
Comedy Critic, The Times

Pete Strauss
Executive Producer, BBC Studios Audio

Paul Abbey
Public Competition Winner

Jo Kinsella
Public Competition Winner

Monique May Munroe
Public Competition Winner

Nica Burns. Copyright: The Other Richard

The Edinburgh Comedy Awards, which are sponsored by TV channel Dave again this year, are celebrating their 40th year of discovering the rising stars of comedy.

Nica Burns, the longstanding producer and director of the awards, says: "After a two-year worldwide hiatus, the renowned Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards are delighted to be back with an exciting and experienced judging panel looking forward to discovering new talent in 2022. Along with Dave, who return as proud sponsors of the Awards this August, we are celebrating 40 years of an incredibly rich comedy heritage. Over the four decades many of our nominees and winners have become household names in the UK and internationally. We are proud of them all."

As in previous years, aside from the prestige of winning, the Best Comedy Show will be awarded a cash prize of £10,000, and the Best Newcomer and Panel Prize recipients which each receive £5,000.

The nominations for Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards will be announced on Wednesday 24th August, and the winners revealed at a ceremony on Saturday 27th August at the Dovecot Studios in Edinburgh.

Further information about the awards can be seen at comedyawards.co.uk

Share this page