Larry Dean. Copyright: Amused Moose.

Larry Dean wins Amused Moose Comedy Award 2016

Larry Dean has won the 2016 Amused Moose Comedy Award, with 'Neal Portenza' named People's Champion.

Established in 2011, the Amused Moose Award focuses on Edinburgh Fringe comedy shows performed by comedians who have not previously won a major award. The overall winner is decided by an industry panel, with finalist performing a 10-minute extract from their show at the live final. Previous winners include Richard Gadd, Marcel Lucont and Tony Law.

This year's final took place at Symposium Hall in Edinburgh this afternoon (Sunday 21st August), compared by Ian Smith. The ten finalists were (in order of appearance): Sleeping Trees, Laura Lexx, Tom Ballard, Neal Portenza, James Loveridge, Larry Dean, Flo & Joan, Eric Lampaert, Pippa Evans and John Robertson.

Glaswegian Larry Dean won the main prize, pleasing the judges and the audience with his material on accents, Londoners, and his homosexuality. He was presented with the award by Shona McCarthy, the Chief Executive of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society.

Meanwhile, Australian Josh Ladgrove - performing in character as Neal Portenza - won the "People's Champion" title, having scored the most points from the audience vote. His surreal set for the final included his own take on the characters played by Johnny Depp, and a bizarre take on classic pop songs.

Larry Dean is performing Farcissist at the Pleasance Courtyard at 7:15pm until 28th August. Neal Portenza. Neal Portenza. Neal Portenza. Tracey. is at Underbelly Med Quad at 8:15pm until 28th August.

A selection of the winners and finalists will perform as part of the Amused Moose Comedy Awards Showcases at the Soho Theatre this Autumn.

Amused Moose 2016 winners. Image shows from L to R: Josh Ladgrove, Eddie Robson. Copyright: BCG.