The Lunchtime Club 2011

The Lunchtime Club 2011. Image shows from L to R: John Kearns, Fin Taylor, Suzi Ruffell, Joe Wells, Max Dickins.

Show details

Stand-up show starring Max Dickins, John Kearns, Joe Wells, Suzi Ruffell and Fin Taylor performed on the following days in August 2011...

  03 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2  

Radio 1's John Kearns, award-winning Joe Wells, Suzi Ruffell 'definitely one to watch' (TimeOut), Absolute Radio's Max Dickins and Fin Taylor 'very, very good' ( are the future of British comedy. Catch them before they're huge! Previous alumni of The Lunchtime Club include Joe Lycett (Laughtershock, BBC3), Tom Rosenthal (Friday Night Dinner, Channel 4), Joel Dommett (Skins, Channel 4 - Russell Howard's Good News, BBC3), Ivo Graham, winner So You Think You're Funny, Rob Beckett, winner Amused Moose Laugh Off, Ian Smith (Popatron, BBC2) and Ben Partridge (creator of Radio 4's It's Your Round).

Share this show


Full press release

Comedy showcase The Lunchtime Club returns to the Edinburgh Fringe with another collection of the finest new talent having already uncovered some of the UK's brightest up-and-coming names since it began in 2009.

Set up by Jon Briley of Best Medicine Management as a means of nurturing the next era of comedy talent, The Lunchtime Club has become a staple of the Edinburgh Fringe over the last two years with a focus on giving a platform to the next-in-line to the comedy throne.

The show is backed up by a rich track record, with Tom Rosenthal (Channel 4's Friday Night Dinner, The Royal Court's Chicken Soup with Barley), Joe Lycett (Chortle Best Newcomer 2010, BBC3's Laughtershock), Joel Dommett (E4's Skins, Russell Howard's Good News), Ivo Graham (winner, So You Think You're Funny?), Rob Beckett (winner, Amused Moose Laugh Off) and Ian Smith (BBC2's Popatron) just some of the names to emerge.

This year's lineup includes award winners, rising stars of radio, authors and more. They are:

- Max Dickins: Snapped up early on by Absolute Radio and duly received a Rising Star nominee in the Sony Radio Awards. Two-time Chortle Student Comedian of the Year finalist who has written for Channel 4's This Just In and BBC's Dick & Dom's Funny Business. Was named as one of The Sun's Top Comedy Picks for 2011 and is also appearing in debut sketch show Dregs at the Underbelly.

- John Kearns: A regular on The Greg James Show (BBC Radio 1) and described by Spoonfed as an 'excellent, surrealist ranter'.

- Joe Wells: Award-winning comic who authored Touch and Go Joe, a book on Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) that charted his battle with the condition which sold 5,000 copies and was translated into two languages. Recently reached the Hackney Empire New Act of the Year final and his material is heavily influenced by socialism.

- Suzi Ruffell: Nominated for Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2011 and is 'definitely one to watch' according to Time Out.

- Fin Taylor: Laughing Horse New Act of the Year semi-finalist who was voted 'One To Watch' by Venue magazine and is very, very good' according to London Is Funny.

The Lunchtime Club has been widely cited as one of the most prestigious and reliable showcases of new talent at the Fringe, bringing a talented and varied collection of stand-ups to the Tron. Bag the bragging rights and impress your friends with knowledge of the next acts set to make it big!


Person Role
Max Dickins Self
John Kearns Self
Joe Wells Self
Suzi Ruffell Self
Fin Taylor Self