Meet the Writers: Martin Baum

Welcome to the eighth edition of ‘Meet the Writers.' This week's interviewee is Martin Baum, better known to the BCG as Baumski.

Mother of God, what have you done?

I've had a couple of theatrical comedies produced - 'The Trouble with Jimmy' and 'Accommodating Moose'. I've had several others which have benefited from readings in front of a live audience which, on a personal level, I prefer to a dead one.

I've been writing for News Revue for about ten years and was in at the beginning for the Treason Show before it was even christened. I've rubbed shoulders with all the great and the good but nothing else with Eric Page, The Big Gay Following from Balls of Steel, who also was part of the Brighton 'Happening'. When satellite TV was in its infancy, I was writing for a cable station based in Birmingham and I did my stint on Huddlines too.

In between times I found it paid to get in touch with my feminine side by writing short stories and articles for most of the mainstream women's magazines.

I'm sorry, I wasn't listening. Something about rubbing your balls on the shoulder of a big gay? No?

Er, what attracted you to being a writer and junk?

Because it was there. Too vague? It's just something I've always done be it as a lyricist or short storyist.

Are you fully committed to comedy now or are you going to keep your options open like a giant slut?

With the success of the book has come opportunity and an agent. I am now in the company of Tom Conti, Toya, Peter Sallis, Keith R Lindsay who has collaborated with John Sullivan on 'Green Green Grass' and more - which is just a bit more than nice. The upshot is that it has put a completely different slant on where my career in comedy is going to end up. I'm not on my own anymore which has made a huge difference. How much of a difference? About 15%.

Talk us through how you landed yourself an agent.