HOW MUCH !!!!?

A thread for you to air the alarming prices you have paid for something or seen advertised, be it very expensive OR very cheap.

This has been inspired by some casual research I finally got around to into why you could not buy the PINK Germolene anymore. Now this may well mean absolutely nothing to our young readers but in my sprog days it was the wonder cure all ointment that yer Mum put on that grazed knee or nettle rash as it not only then healed quickly, it also soothed itchiness - something that you will find becomes more of an issue as you get older for those "private areas". :$

Now I have been buying the "regular white" Germolene for several years now and assumed the pink had been taken out of the formula as being superfluous to the effectiveness of the antiseptic properties, BUT often wondered why? And it turns out that the original PINK Germolene IS still available online ONLY! It seems the common or garden white Germolene 55g tube is about £4 or £5 BUT (FFS!!) the ORIGINAL PINK is...................wait for it................about £38 for the same size tube!!!!!!

Now, the "cheap white" is apparently a CREAM but the "original pink" is an ointment and so you see that explains it all - NOT! And yet it seems people are prepared to pay that £38 to get/use the original.

But the tale doesn't end there. According to the Mumsnet site the original pink is available in South Africa for about £3 or £4!! Someone is making a lot of money somewhere along the line!

NOW FOR A CHEAPY
Just to balance it up and I know I have mentioned this elsewhere, but the Panasonic home phone set I bought recently came singly £69 or two handsets £69.90, which I was going for to replace our existing two station set-up OR £69.99 for the triple set - YES, that's the third handset for 9p - NINE PENCE. Bargain or what.