Warren Page 9

Hi all

I'm Jimmy and Im the writer and creator of Warren. I came up with the original idea for Warren (link here https://youtu.be/5ARjZw7WyyE) and then wrote it with my friend Paul Mckenna (not the hypnotist).

So I read all these comments, it's taken a little while for my skin to grow thick enough to read all that everyone said, and was a hard and tough few weeks. Some comments where unkind, some funny, some encouraging, some personal, some sympathetic and some down right bonkers but I suppose that comes with the territory - BBC1, Monday night, Martin Clunes, before Partridge - it's an exposed spot!

I've never written a sitcom before, never written anything before only preformed, so when an opportunity like this comes along and having worked to try and make it in comedy for nearly 10 years, it's not something you turn down. We both worked so hard, tried our best, were paid very little (last year I earned £13k) and hoped for the best but sometimes things don't work out and this was one of them! I learnt so much from making this, some of it was a harsh lesson but ultimately it will make me stronger and my next show even better.

Thanks for all your comments, and thanks to Warren, it's opened a door for me to continue to try and make it in this industry! Hopefully my next project (touch wood) will be more appreciated and more to how I want it to be! Fingers crossed!

Thanks again,
All the best,
Jimmy

Kudos for coming on mate and explaining your position and how you felt. It's a bit like that scene in the Woody Allen film where the writer is in the queue at the cinema.

For me I said what I believed and still believe and that is more work was needed, on the dialogue and there were too many stereotypes. It's only my opinion but it's an honest one.

However the one thing I have learned since my first post is reflected in my last one: