The touchy subject of race, racism, and race relations Page 2

Quote: DaButt @ 14th February 2018, 8:12 PM

Did you mention it to your employer? It seems to me that their words were a workplace rules violation as opposed to a criminal offense, but I'm by no means an expert in British law.

It's both and in recent years has become regarded as a much more serious offence and is classed as a hate crime so police will respond when it's reported to them. The fall in police numbers means 100% of reported incidents are probably not followed up and when put in to context what happened with me at work would be on the lesser end of severity but the main point would have been the police visiting and telling those involved they need to choose their words more carefully because some language isn't tolerated. It would at least make them feel small even if it didn't change anything.

I once saw a group of black kids maybe around 15 or 16 years old walking along a path in a park and as a girl walked past them in the opposite direction they were rude and suggestive. They didn't touch her but were being obscene and getting in her face and when she ignored them it turned to insults. She got so enraged that she yelled something with the N word and I heard of them them shout "Oi, you can't say that".

He was right of course and she lost control and has no excuse for her choice of words but I found it interesting how the group of boys seemed to think it was ok for them to harass and verbally degrade a lone female but when they got her so furious she had to retaliate that was the only issue.

Well, either way, it seems the Polis are great at shooting blacks but not much cop at sussng nutters who're about to turn a gun on masses of people in schools - again! When will it end?

Quote: DaButt @ 14th February 2018, 8:50 PM

a rich, white, New Yorker, anti-Trump reporter's opinion piece,