Electrical Safety Advice

I need to give my washing machine a bloody good servicing but obviously not in a sexual way. I might dabble with that idea later on but not when it's in such a poorly maintained state and I could catch all sorts. I've been using it for 18 months without ever cleaning the filters or running an empty wash cycle and yesterday when I removed the detergent drawer for the first time I noticed thick black gunk that probably runs all through the machine. It was digusting and made me wonder how much bacteria is on my 'clean' clothes.

I've downloaded the PFD manual for the washing machine and there are several filters and pipes that can be removed and cleaned but it involves pulling out the washing machine to turn off the water supply. The electrical plug for the washing machine is just an on/off button on the wall with no way of removing the plug because there isn't one. From a safety point to avoid the risk of electrocution is just turning the button off enough when pulling out the machine and removing components or should I turn off the supply to the socket from the main fuse box because there's no way to unplug the washing machine from the wall socket?

I'm pretty sure if you check the terms and conditions for your appliance it will state clearly that performing any maintenance on the machine based on advise gained from comedy based Internet forums will void the warranty

Quote: lofthouse @ 28th January 2018, 9:37 PM

I'm pretty sure if you check the terms and conditions for your appliance it will state clearly that performing any maintenance on the machine based on advise gained from comedy based Internet forums will void the warranty

Top Tip

Quote: lofthouse @ 28th January 2018, 9:37 PM

:D

Quote: Definitely Tarby @ 28th January 2018, 9:31 PM