Mrs Plonker (Pilot)

Has anyone any info on this pilot created by Channel 5? I saw some details on the StarNow newsletter.

hi there paul I'm james alton the creator and exec producer of mrs plonker its not a pilot on channel 5 but mrs plonker was seen on channel 5 as part of a documentary its a pilot going into production and already had interest from a major broadcaster

kind regards
jamesy
exec producer & creator

Just googled Mrs Plonker. I must learn to stop doing this...

ha ha ha shes funny unique original and has got the interest from a major broadcaster already

Good luck with it James. Please keep up updated. And welcome to the site.

thank you will can you help me understand the process I have sent pitch synopsis and script to the channel and the comedy commissioner is getting in touch what happens do they buy it or what I'm new to all this

kind regards
james

Unfortunately I have no experience of such matters. Beaky is our BCG expert being the creator and writer of The Rebel on Gold. Hopefully he can give you some advice.

I checked out the videos and good luck with it Jamesy :) The character has potential but I'm not so sure about the material because I think the best audience would be kids but not with the Carry On theme. The character for an adult audience isn't really hitting the mark and needs something new thrown in. Something that might work is if occasionally you switch voices to a very deep, cockney voice like you're speaking as an observer. An example would be if you say a gag and it doesn't go down like you planned you can then say something like "blimey, who writes this?" In a deep voice and that might get a giggle. I think you need something unusual like that to make your drag act original.

You should also do something with your hands because they never seem sure what to do. You could rest one hand on the other just under the bust to keep them still or introduce props (fnarr fnarr) to give you something to hold on to (fnarr fnarr fnarr)