Could you help?

Hi,

I'm hoping you can help a newcomer.

I'm writing a sitcom and I'm at the stage where I need some honest feedback - so I have 2 questions:

1. What do people think is the best way to get people to give feedback? I worry that if I just show a script it won't get read, or the comedy/characters may be misunderstood.

2. Should I be worried about copyright if I put it on a forum?

Any replies would be appreciated, I'm sure there are lots of people on here who've had the same thoughts.

Well I am new to the sharing aspect of script writing myself.

For internet sharing and general feedback:
If it's an original idea, then I tend to post a scene or two that best sums up what I'm trying to achieve; setting, characters or the style of humour, for example. I suggest asking for specific feedback from online communities as opposed to just is it good or bad because if you want a straight answer, you'll get one and they are not helpful whether they are positive or not. You'll need to know why something is bad, why it's working or why it doesn't. Not to blow smoke but I find this community to be the most honest, educated and helpful of all those I attend. You may regret posting an entire script, however, especially if it's rather good, because someone may grab it and run with it.

For professional feedback:
There are professionals you can pay to assess your work but I suggest sending them to an agency, they normally have a group of people who will filter through everything sent. Most of the time it will be sent back with some notes but if it's up to snuff, it'll be read by the big cheese and then they can act as a conduit for your work.

1 At some point a bored, underpaid person who is at the bottom of the pecking order in a production compnay may disinterestedly glance at your script. Before spilling coffee or more likely whiskey on it and hurling it into the shredder so he can line his daughters rabbit cage with something later.