Different humour for different audiences

Hi all,

I'm new to stand-up and new to this forum so sorry if this is a stupid question and has been done before.

I have a routine that I've done 4 times recently at different venues, that got very different results at each one.

Two performances got tonnes of laughs. One got a few laughs. One got no laughs at all.

So my question is, are their different categories of jokes that you can define, and can you identify that one particular audience will love a style of jokes but not others (and if so how)?

This is also a summary of the demographics of the venues I performed at (to the best of my memory):

1 - An actual comedy club where people had to pay to see the event. The individual people ranged from 17 - 70 (one competitor brought his grandparents). Average person there had at least average IQ and from the dress everyone was middle or upper class. Got lots of laughs - had to wait for people to stop laughing at one point before I could move on.

2 - Free to attend Standup comedy competition held at a performing arts school. Majority of Audience between 17 and 25 years old. (skewed at the lower end as most of them have just left school (and were studying at this performing arts school). Got lots of laughs - had to wait several times for people to stop laughing.

3 - Part of the entertainment at a fundraising dinner. Paid ticketing. Audience most middle age (30-40). Not trying to be mean, but this is what I noticed most of the audience were lower class people. I also noticed the audience responded really well to another comedian who mostly did smut jokes. I got a few laughs and giggles at this one.