Why are there so few genuinely funny novels? Page 3

I think, from my experience, comedy as a genre isnt really categorised by agents and publishers so it's difficult to get visibility in that respect. I write relatively successful historical fiction that is undeniably comedy, but its billed as historical and Im an Historical writer as far as my publishers are concerned. Its the same for other writers. A writing group Im part of is purely for comedy but all of us find ourselves stuck in other genres, be it SciFi, Romance, detective etc. I think it's easier for publishers as funny is subjective, but its a bugger for readers and writers.

Sorry, first post but thought the thread was really interesting.

Quote: Jemahl Evans @ 28th January 2020, 1:47 PM

I think, from my experience, comedy as a genre isnt really categorised by agents and publishers so it's difficult to get visibility in that respect. I write relatively successful historical fiction that is undeniably comedy, but its billed as historical and Im an Historical writer as far as my publishers are concerned. Its the same for other writers. A writing group Im part of is purely for comedy but all of us find ourselves stuck in other genres, be it SciFi, Romance, detective etc. I think it's easier for publishers as funny is subjective, but its a bugger for readers and writers.

Sorry, first post but thought the thread was really interesting.

I found it interesting.
What historical period do you write about?
It must be hard to break into writing to be relatively successful.

I find Bill Bryson funny sometimes. I have found James Herriot funny at times. On occasion David Niven's autobiography and book on Hollywood made me laugh as did 'Lucky Jim' and 'Cold Comfort Farm' and 'Portnoy's Complaint'. I can't think of that many books I have found really funny though.

It's hard enough to write a novel I think, without making it funny too. Interesting what you say about publishers.