Sitcom ideas wanted by new production company Page 3

:)
I am actually a published technical writer & technical editor as well.

I just don't write comedy.

Any wannabe sitcom writer with only one good idea ain't gonna make it anyway, which I why I suggested use your second best idea with these guys. After all you are not gonna do much else with it and if they don't use it, nothing has changed you could still develop it and submit through the usual thin channels.

The thing is , Bill, what you'd be doing is providing these people with stuff they can pitch - for nothing, zero risk, zero cost.
The only time you should do that is if the connection with the producer brings with it so much kudos/contacts that it's worth doing it for nowt.
The irony is, any producer with said clout wouldn't dream of making such a one-sided offer to a writer.
It's also designed to ensnare people with no experience (anyone with experience will avoid like the plague) - ensuring the company will come up against little resistance when they offer them a deal - with no nasty agent to read the small print.
One can only imagine how wretched that contract will be.

I'm mainly a screenplay man, but have had a couple of sit-coms optioned.
Nether relationship turned out that well - the difference being my work was only locked up for 9 months and 12 months respectively and I came out of it £4k better off.

>One can only imagine how wretched that contract will be.

But you are only guessing what the contract might be and yet you for instance have (I presume) two model contracts which you can present to these guys (if they show an interest) and say.. These are my terms.

Quote: billwill @ March 30 2013, 3:11 PM GMT

>One can only imagine how wretched that contract will be.

But you are only guessing what the contract might say.

True.
They may actually be offering very generous contracts and the attitude they display in their call for submissions is just a front.