The Writer's Prize Page 2

Quote: Marc P @ September 13 2012, 8:17 AM BST

Well it doesn't exactly 'do what it says on the tin' does it?

THE WRITERS PRIZE

There is no prize. If a writer meets the criteria below and sends us something brilliant and unique, they might get a full Radio 3 or Radio 4 Drama commission or a pilot commission for a Radio 4 Comedy.

I'm no expert on this sort of thing but I saw it as a bold attempt at irony.

Quote: Lazzard @ September 13 2012, 9:40 AM BST

Well I suppose the narrowing down to Radio at least gives it some sort of focus.

Yeah, and it does seem part of a more thought out plan in line with the rejigging of WR's rules. Seems like a sensible channelling off for new scripts instead of one massive general flow the readers take on blindly. My scripts have definitely had blind readers reading them.

And can we assume WR's going to reopen about the same time? I've been waiting for the date to be put up there.

Quote: Alfred J Kipper @ September 14 2012, 4:48 PM BST

I'm no expert on this sort of thing but I saw it as a bold attempt at irony.

Well don't f**king comment then. We only want people who know what they are talking abut on this forum. ;)

Well that will leave only you and that man in the mirror you carry around with you. Don't want you to get lonely here.

Quote: Alfred J Kipper @ September 14 2012, 4:48 PM BST

And can we assume WR's going to reopen about the same time? I've been waiting for the date to be put up there.

Yeah Script Room opens 21st September, the same day (unspecified time). The radio thing doesn't launch til 6pm though. Still reckon it's called a prize as there will be some sort of incentive, TV submissions must weigh Radio submissions by some ratio, might be trying to redress the balance by offering a prize in it.

I have to say, it wasn't until doing Newsjack that I realised how good writing for radio is. Slightly more challenging, but good.