Monty Python is dreadful Page 17

Python was never a favourite show of mine when it was on, which is why I'm posting on this thread.
During the Dead Parrot sketch I actually found myself wondering why I was laughing, something I've never done before or since. I was left thinking of the repetition, and that it could be shortened.
I hadn't bothered to watch any of the films, and only saw Life of Brian because of the stupid religious fuss over it. I actually loved Brian and have now seen it more than any other film, and it's now my all time favourite comedy film.
I then saw Meaning of Life and while I prefer Brian it's better than the others.

Here's my take on Monty Python.

You love it or you hate it. There is no happy medium because it is a different type of humor. Purists know the history, know the movies, and fight amongst themselves over Cleese leaving and things like that. For regular folks, you get it or you don't. It's like the Trekkie thing. Are you a Pythonese or not?

I find that of the people I know, if they were introduced to Benny Hill first they detest Python, and vice versa (and the same rings true for Absolutely Fabulous and Fawlty Towers). I'll admit, I didn't like the show as much, it was okay and if it was on I'd watch for the stop motion animation sequences. However, the movies are friggin genius! The Holy Grail is the business, but The Meaning of Life is my all time fav. Of all the films, that one just tugs at the funny bone the loudest.

British humor isn't transcendental; not everyone gets it, and unfortunately The Benny Hill Show opened up an expectation that British sketch comedy should be more like The Carol Burnett Show instead of its own unique thing.

Another vote for The Meaning of Life - a great film.

Quote: beaky @ 16th February 2017, 6:37 PM

Cleese's sex ed skit...man, man, man, the tears of laughter cried over that one! Oh, and isn't it wonderful to have a penis? GOLD!