Things that piss you off Page 1,806

TBH it doesn't bother me.

Quote: Michael Monkhouse @ 10th May 2021, 2:44 PM

Is it just me, or is anyone who uses the expression 'FYI' a total f**king c**t?

For your information you TFC.

So, I receive a letter from some parking company to say I owe them £70 for illegally parking in our local hospital car park, where I have been doing so for over 20 years, attending the eye clinic, including going every week for the last 7 weeks for a post op check on my left eye, when I had that "trap door" stitched into the eyeball.

On the last, and ironically final, visit it was v. busy and I had to wait 2 hours in a corridor to see the eye surgeon for the final check (he was very pleased with how it had gone, by the way and I no longer have to put drops in that eye OR see him).

Unbeknownst to me, and I reckon hundreds of others (!!), at the beginning of May, the hospital execs. decided that Blue Badge holders (me included) had to register their badge in some office in this vast site, so they could check the badge against owner (photo etc.), and so it seems if you don't they assume you don't have a badge and are illegally parking, and there is the photos in the letter of my car clearly coming into the hospital grounds (NOT the car park) and 2½ hours later departing.

Hence, I owe them £70 for parking illegally, even though I had displayed my badge with three hours parking allowance on the dashboard. IF I pay the fine within 14 days, they will reduce it to £42.

I can make an appeal, which I did right away online, BUT it may take them 28 days OR LONGER to "allow" for Covid (what a load of bollocks) before they can reply, which means I could see that fine double to £140 OR whatever figure they dream up.

Three things occur to me.