The Young Ones Page 7

Quote: dellas @ April 24 2011, 3:42 AM BST

:) I believed that Mike was chosen to play a 'normal' guy amongst chaos. He is totally believable in that role, amazingly 'underplayed'; so funny and confused by others' antics!

Where is he now?

But he can't act. Tell me something he's done that was good.

I've never understood the Mike hatred. He's the weakest of the main characters, but the other three are so strong that most would struggle to make an impact.

^ What he said!

Leave wee Chris be. :(

I decided to give the young ones another go the other night. I watched the first episode and got a few laughs out of it - but that was all.

It puzzles me as to why people find it so funny. Do you have to understand the 70s sub-cultures they are poking fun at or something? I was a student in the 90s and can only very mildly relate to the whole thing. I mean - what is Rik meant to be all about? Who in the 80s was obsessed with Cliff Richard? And I didn't know there even were hippies in the 80s. Did punks really speak like Muppets and smash everything up? And a landlord who pretends to be foreign - why? Another hippy also called Neil turns up. He looks a bit the same and has the same name. Why is that funny? A Bible basher turns ups to rant and rave doom and gloom. We know that Bible bashers turn up and rant and rave doom and gloom - they've been doing it since ever. So...why is that new or funny?

Quote: Chappers @ April 28 2011, 6:03 PM BST

But he can't act. Tell me something he's done that was good.

He played two good roles in 'One Foot in the Grave'. The twin builders role was espeicially well done I think.

You don't think it's funny that a teenage student is obsessed with Cliff Richard?

Not Joy Division, or the Sex Pistols or Hendrix?

But Cliff Richard!?

You don't find that funny?

What he said.

That is the whole point.

And hippies have always been around. And really Vivian is more of a heavy metal fan than a punk.