Political comedy - opinions WANTED for phd

Hi - my name's Matt and I'm currently doing a PhD in British television political comedy. I'm looking at programmes from 'TW3' to 'The Thick of It' - so lots of material. One of the main parts of my research is based on what viewers (you guys!) think about political comedy.

I found this site a few weeks ago and wondered if you all might be able to help me with one specific chapter.

I'm looking for people to write to me about 'Yes Minister', 'The New Statesman' and 'The Thick of It'; this would then go into my Phd. You can write about whatever seems appropriate to you - I want to know any of your thoughts! :D

If you could write to me in this thread or personal message by 18th September I'd be really grateful - though latecomers will still be useful!

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Matt

Royal Holloway, University of London : Department of Media Arts

I'd like to help.

But really think you should get a job!

But I'm in one of those moods.

I expect you'll run the country someday - after Aaron has got bored with it.

I can't really think of anything of interest at present but wierdly I have been going through a phase of watching all of these comedies on YouTube and so when I am not so tired I am pretty sure I'll have quite a few oppinions.

Quote: Maettc @ September 10 2009, 9:03 PM BST

You can write about whatever seems appropriate to you

Thanks for that! Though don't you think if you are looking for a PhD you should be a bit more structured? Is asking random strangers off the internet part of your agreed process with your supervisor, for example?

Hi Matt

At the risk of being helpful have you tried the search button on this site?

If you want random thoughts you'll find plenty on the shows you mentioned.

I agree with Badge though - if you had a set of questions you'd probably find a few more volunteers.