All Over The Town. Image shows from L to R: Sally Thorpe (Sarah Churchill), Nathaniel Hearn (Norman Wooland). Copyright: ITV Studios.

All Over The Town

1949 British comedy film about a small town newspaper. Stars Norman Wooland, Sarah Churchill, Cyril Cusack, Fabia Drake, James Hayter and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Norman Wooland Nathaniel Hearn
Sarah Churchill Sally Thorpe
Cyril Cusack Gerald Vane
Fabia Drake Miss Gelding
James Hayter Councillor Baines
Edward Rigby Grimmett
Patric Doonan Burton
Eleanor Summerfield Beryl Hopper
Bryan Forbes Trumble
John Salew Sleek
Henry Edwards Major Martindale
Ronald Adam Sam Vane
Sandra Dorne Marlene
J. Hubert Leslie Skinner
Trefor Jones Tenor
Frederick Leister Wainer
Writing team
R.F. Delderfield Writer
Derek N. Twist (as Derek Twist) Writer (Adapted By)
Michael Gordon Writer (Adapted By)
Inez Holden Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Derek N. Twist (as Derek Twist) Director
Ian Dalrymple Producer
Sid Stone (as Sidney Stone) Editor
Fred Pusey Production Designer
Temple Abady Composer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see director of photography, 1st assistant director & associate producer credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?