The Comedy Poster Awards returned in 2018, bigger and better than ever.

The Comedy Poster Awards celebrate the best artwork at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

With hundreds of acts and hundreds of thousands of potential customers coming to the Fringe, having a strong, funny, informative, or entertaining poster has become a vital marketing tactic for comedians to get bums on seats.

First taking place in 2014, this competition was established by TV and live comedy producer Gina Lyons to celebrate the most popular and loved designs in poster artwork at the Fringe: from the idea, to the photo, to the finished artwork.

We want to shout and celebrate the hard graft that goes into perfecting the art of poster design, ideas and photography.

In 2018 we presented the Beer52 Audience Award and the Panel Award: the former decided by a popular vote and the latter by a jury of industry professionals.

On top of this we love a party, and along with Beer52 we partied until the very, very small hours to celebrate the end of the Fringe and another hit awards, at the end of August 2018.

Here's a video from the 2016 ceremony.

Our partners


Beer52 sponsored the 2018 Audience Award - which the public voted for on this website. A unique "craft beer discovery club" delivering members new brews every month, they're offering everyone a free case of 8 craft beers for just £2.95 postage. Details

Stannp helps you stay in contact with your existing customers and contact new ones, by sending them personalised postcards and letters, all for less than the cost of a second-class stamp.

To celebrate their involvement in the awards, Stannp are offering new customers £50 off of their first order of £100 or more.

Judging panel

The Panel Award is determined by a selection of experts from across the comedy industry. In 2018 they were:

Chris Curley
Chris Curley

Head of Development, Comedy Central UK

Chris Curley is Head of Development for Comedy Central UK. He is responsible for finding, developing, commissioning and executive producing new and existing formats for the channel.
Nerys Evans
Nerys Evans

Creative Director of Comedy, Expectation Entertainment

Nerys Evans is a Creative Director at Expectation Entertainment. She previously worked at Channel 4, where she was Deputy Head of Comedy. She has helped commission and develop shows including Catastrophe, Flowers, Derry Girls and The Windsors.
Alice Jones
Alice Jones

Arts Editor, i newspaper

Alice Jones is the Arts Editor, writer and columnist for the i newspaper. She was also the chair of the 2016 Edinburgh Comedy Awards panel.
Rupert Majendie
Rupert Majendie

Freelance producer

Rupert Majendie is a producer of live, online and TV comedy. He runs the hugely successful Knock2Bag night, and also works as a TV producer. His shows include the BAFTA-nominated Pls Like.

Previous winners

2018 Panel Award - Lou Sanders

Lou Sanders: Shame Pig. Lou Sanders.

2018 Beer52 Audience Award - Olaf Falafel

Olaf Falafel: There's No i In Idiot. Olaf Falafel.

2016 Panel Award - Lou Sanders

What's that lady doing?. Lou Sanders.

2016 Audience Award - Desiree Burch

Evolution. Desiree Burch.

2015 Panel Award - Tom Parry

Tom Parry: Yellow T-shirt. Tom Parry.

2015 Audience Award - Michael Stranney, Olaf Falafel

Expect the unexporcupine.

2014 Panel Award - Holly Walsh

Never Had It. Holly Walsh.