Series 1    Series 2   

1. Jo Brand Through The Cakehole

First Broadcast: Thu 30th December 1993

Deadpan comedienne Jo Brand delivers a unique blend of stand-up and sketches, focusing on her favourite subjects - namely, cakes and men.

More Details

Series 1 (1994)

1. Episode One

First Broadcast: Fri 8th April 1994

Deadpan comedienne Jo Brand questions the phenomenon of the 'new man', and airs her displeasure of the interlopers to the glorious world of cake, such as rice, Jaffa, and Pontefract.

More Details

2. Episode Two

First Broadcast: Fri 15th April 1994

Jo Brand questions the lack of euphemisms for female masturbation, and sings about the progress of womens' rights issues.

More Details

3. Episode Three

First Broadcast: Fri 22nd April 1994

Jo Brand gives Helena Bonham-Carter a lesson in how to make herself more attractive to men. Plus, there's a trip to a male prostitute.

More Details

4. Episode Four

First Broadcast: Fri 29th April 1994

Another battle of the sexes, Jo Brand style. Ex-boxer Barry McGuigan puts in an appearance and is assaulted by a posse of women. Jo feels the burn after her exercise routine.

More Details

5. Episode Five

First Broadcast: Fri 6th May 1994

Mrs Watson gives Sherlock Holmes a piece of her mind, and Jo laments the increasing health warnings on cigarette packets. Meanwhile, the Drudge Squad finally get their man in for questioning.

More Details

6. Episode Six

First Broadcast: Fri 13th May 1994

This week, Jo asks what's so 'super' about supermodels. She also gives a certain coffee advert a bit of a roasting, before sending some poor people on a murderous rampage.

More Details

Christmas Special: Jo Brand Through The Christmas Cakehole

First Broadcast: Fri 23rd December 1994

A special Christmas edition of Jo Brand's comedy show featuring sketches and stand-up routines. The deadpan comedienne offers her own unique style of seasonal cheer, packed with TV advert and film spoofs.

More Details

Series 2 (1996)

1. War And Violence

First Broadcast: Fri 12th January 1996

As the series returns, Jo Brand looks at HRT, Reservoir Dogs, female Gladiators and TV crime programmes.

More Details

2. Sex And Men

First Broadcast: Fri 19th January 1996

Jo Brand looks at sex and men. She talks condoms with Lynne Franks and there is an investigation into who really shot the arrow into Harold's eye.

More Details

3. Rude Health

First Broadcast: Fri 26th January 1996

Comedian Jo Brand concentrates on health, deviating only to take in the pleasures of smoking and fashion tips for fatties.

More Details

4. A Bit Racey

First Broadcast: Fri 2nd February 1996

Comedian Jo Brand shares her thoughts on her Maltese holiday, Bernard Manning, and racist cabbies. The Drudge Squad investigate a murder in a village run by the Klu Klux Klan and Meera Syal tries to organise an arranged marriage for Jo.

More Details

5. Unhappy Families

First Broadcast: Fri 9th February 1996

Jo Brand shares her views on children, parents and the perils of a strict upbringing - something put to the test by going to see Last Tango In Paris and producing a black boyfriend.

More Details

6. What A State

First Broadcast: Fri 16th February 1996

In the final programme of the series, Jo Brand turns her thoughts to HRT, soap operas, politically correct banking and Clause IV of the Labour Party. It also includes Imelda Staunton's own version of the National Anthem.

More Details

Series 1    Series 2