BBC Radio New Comedy Award. Image credit: British Broadcasting Corporation.

BBC Radio New Comedy Award

The BBC's nationwide search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent. Patrick Kielty presents coverage from the final rounds

BBC New Comedy Award; BBC Radio 2 New Comedy Award 2011; BBC Radio 2 New Comedy Award 2012; BBC New Comedy Award 2013; BBC New Comedy Award 2014
2011 - 2015  (BBC Radio 2 / BBC Radio 4 Extra)
40 (5 series)
Patrick Kielty, Pat Cahill, Chris Turner, Joe Lycett, Mark Restuccia, Angela Barnes, Tez Ilyas, Matt Rees, Matt Winning, Lucy Beaumont, Tommy Rowson & more
British Broadcasting Corporation

The BBC New Comedy Awards ran from 1995-2005, and as arguably the most prestigious new talent competition in the UK, a large array of top new stand-up comedians were discovered in the process.

The Award returned in 2011, with over 600 comedians entering into the process.

Aside from the profile boost, the prize for the winner is £1000 in cash and a paid commission from BBC Radio Comedy, as well as development advice and guidance from the BBC Comedy department and a chance to appear in other slots across the BBC.

Highlights from the heats are broadcast on Radio 4 Extra. The semi-finals are broadcast in full on Radio 2.

The final, hosted by Patrick Kielty, is broadcast live on Radio 2 with an audience vote picking the winner.

Angela Barnes won the 2011 contest, Lucy Beaumont triumphed in 2012, Steve Bugeja was the winner in 2013, and Lee Ridley won last year.