Animated comedy

Anybody here a fan of animated comedies? Any fans of South Park? Robot Chicken? There must be some love out there for The Simpsons, right???

I'm a big kid; I love cartoons. I just got through my first re-watch in about 5 years of "Beavis And Butthead Do America". I'm a fully grown man and this still cracks me up. Is there something wrong with me?!?!

Share the love for animated comedy below!

Bromwell High was fantastic.

I'm a big fan, in fact as a student I had a weekly strip (cartoon) in a local rag. Sadly it doesn't pay well in this country unless you work for The Sun, America is a far bigger market.

But I find the new ideas and more stylistic work often comes from outside of America. The Simpsons, Family Guy, King of the Hill all look and feel very similar to me. Admittedly South Park and Beavis and But head stood out. But Viz and Wallace and Gromit are one of a kind. France also has a strong tradition of cartooning going back to the 19th century. Japan has a distinctive style for fantasy cartoon. Have you spotted anything new that's good ?

Also my 9 year old tells me all his mates like Family Guy - why is that funny to kids ?

Kids love Family Guy because it's ridiculous and silly, and doesn't dwell on anything for too long. All the asides and everything, even in long scenes. Very easy for their short attention spans to follow.

I kind of hate Family Guy. It just feels so mean spirited and a bit souless somehow. I love South Park.

Quote: Nick Nockerty @ 31st May 2015, 3:57 PM BST

Have you spotted anything new that's good?

Ha ha! Not really. That's partly what I was hoping for from this thread! It's a few years old, but 'Archer' is pretty funny, and it's got its own style of animation that's pretty cool.

Family Guy and American Dad are brilliant but I get pissed off when they seem to repeat the same ones. There must be some I haven't seen.

Crapston Villas and Stressed Eric were good - as is Meet the Newmans.

Family Guy for me.