ITV Show Me The Funny Auditions

So,

Did anyone enter this? Have you heard back from the audition team yet?

#justinterested

FJ

Didn't enter because I had a bit of a negative vibe from it... I thought that knowing me, I could quite feasably damange my potential career a hell of a lot more than I could help it! But that's because I'm a negative nelly.

I'm just starting out and am at the stage where I've got some material but am looking for a chance to try it out.
I did look at applying for this, and still might, but the fact that the deadline seems a bit loose - they say "send something in within the week if you can" - worries me a bit.
Not sure if I will send in a tape and then for some reason the series doesn't happen. Would I then have wasted my limited and quite precious material? What do people think, isn't it the norm to have a strict closing date for these things?

Yes it is. But this isn't a normal comp. I honestly think it will take a certain type of comic with a few years of experience to pull this off.

Most new act competitions, especially the televised ones, are really for acts with a couple of years experience.

There's nothing to stop you from entering if you are really, really new but I would say that unless you are supremely confident it's not a good idea to enter these things until you've had a bit of experience of the circuit and are fairly confident on stage.

A bad experience early on could well put you off doing stand up for life, or at the very least set you back a bit and don't forget that "bad auditions" make "good TV" (see "X Factor", "Pop Idol", etc), so don't think that if you mess up it won't be broadcast, once you've signed the forms, that's it, you no longer have any control over it.